Humanizing the Digital World

Being a digital media major, I have to be a creative illustrator. In my current internship for JD Peroro I am in charge of redesigning the company’s website. JD Peroro is a digital media company and they do template designs for client’s webpages, magazines, scholarship promotions, and any and everything in between. My manager told me I have a clear sight for creativity and I agree with her. The website for her company is so bland. It’s boring and cluttered. Reading about Zinsser’s “Simplicity” and “Clutter” I had to agree that much of JD’s content can be removed because of repetition. It looks so congested. The home page displays so much information that the user of the website won’t go any further into the website after seeing the first page.

theme

I told my manager that I wanted to come up with a brand new theme for this website.I looked into the background information for this company and found out their mission statement which happens to be “Humanize the Digital World- the drive of our company.” This gave me the perfect idea for her new theme. I want to add the human touch to the “Digital World” An image I presented to her for the new idea put the biggest smile on her face.

The human touch on digital media seems like something we do on a daily basis. We have video games, pictures, hypertexts, links, animation, short video clips, and so much more! Every day we and humanizing the digital world. Look at how far we have came from video games as to how they use to look verses how they look now. Every game mimics real life human interactions. We have built virtual worlds such as the game Minecraft.  Before we had games like Pong and Duck Hunt. It is an amazing journey how far we have came with humanizing the digital world with everything around us. All vedio games now resemble such life-like actions and characters. The story plots, graphics, characters, resemblances to life-like actions and everyday usage is all derived from the human touch. We don’t want society to feel alienated from the digital work us humans create. The goal is for the world to relate to to all digital media. It needs to be a sense of comfort, enjoyment, and reality.

Leave a comment